Exploring Döşemealtı

Date: Thursday, April 13th 2017

When we arrived, it was night time. Dinky, dirt roads. Barely any street lights. I thought for sure we were going to get murdered.

But we made it to our apartment thank God. After about 12 hours of sleep, I walked through it to check it out. Nice. Small. Simple. I love it. It has all the essentials while looking nice but not over the top.

After drinking an insane amount of tea, M and I decided to get some essential things done while there was still sunlight. We walked to a local bank and exchanged money. M’s friend was with us obviously. We wouldn’t have been able to do anything without him. The language barrier is…yeah lol. We also found a local phone store and purchased a sim + minutes. It was sprinkling the entire walk. It didn’t seem like much but once we got home, I was soaked lol. I should have changed and drank tea right away because I’m starting to feel a little sick again..

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

On our walk back, we heard the loud athan (call for prayer) for Asr. We stopped by 2 grocery stores to get essentials; mainly food lol. We bought eggs, butter, bread, oil, spices/seasoning, chicken, cucumber, and the best tasting mini-tomatoes I’ve ever had in my entire life. My God, sooo good we couldn’t stop eating it lol. The pricing for things was interesting. I guess it all depends on how easily accessible the item is.

Back at the apartment, we kinda just chilled.  Again, we drank an unhealthy amount of tea lol.

DSC_1144
Peep M. Did you find him? lol

Looked through our bags properly to check everything. Updated family on our whereabouts. The neighbor from across the hall stopped by and dropped off some bread when she introduced herself 🙂 I pulled out my camera and took some pictures of our bedroom, kitchen, and living room balcony view (yes we have 3 balconies…).

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I like this place. It’s so green and serene. Feels like a little piece of heaven.

Keep us in your duaas!

Leave a Reply

