Home Cooking + Fikra

Date: Monday, April 17, 2017

I could live like this forever.

Today was such a nice day. I know I keep saying that but it’s just so freaking nice having days without the rush of work or anything.

I spent the entire day at home. The weather, though gloomy, was very warm.

DSC_1187
The clouds are here to stay for a few days..

I opened all the windows to air out the apartment. It still has a weird, stale smell. We busted out our 3ood but then it smelled like both the 3ood and the weird smell loool. So I just opened all the windows while I worked to let the air flow.

Airing
Peep M. Told him a story about a friend’s family’s robbery in Cairo. He decided to hide like the robber did lol. Did you find him?

I spent most of the day reading articles and watching videos about vlogging and blogging. Watching all those videos made me reevaluate why I’m doing this. Was this just to keep in touch with family or did I really want to make something of it? Was I willing to dedicate the time and effort needed to make it something? If I wanted to make something of it..what? What did I want to make this into? Will it be a daily thing? Will I vlog and blog? I made a ton of mental notes to discuss it seriously with M with our evening tea.

It was finally time for me to cook dinner.

Me? Cook dinner? Lols, right?

Well, I did it.

Flex
♫ As a specimen, yes I’m intiiiimidaaating ♫

I had rice, lentils, onions, and potatoes on hand. I had a few seasonings as well: oregano, thyme, red pepper flakes, cinnamon, cumin, salt, & pepper. Lucky for me, last week Buzzfeed’s Tasty uploaded a Lentils and Rice with Caramelized Onions recipe. After all those hours of just watching their videos, I was finally going to cook one for dinner. I’ve tried 2 or 3 others, but M did most of the work for those. When I looked up other recipes for this dish, I found out that it’s actually Lebanese & called Mujadara.

As for the patates, I googled simple potato recipe and went with Oven Roasted Potatoes. We had some ingredients missing but I decided to try it anyways (said bismillah and shahada just in case lol).

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Turned out pretty good for my first time. I slightly over cooked the caramelized onions (it looks worse in the picture I promise lol). The potatoes turned out perfectly- except for the ones I cut too small. Squeezed a little lemon on the rice+lentils, it was super delicious! I made notes of what I’d tweak in the recipes if/when I make it again, which gave me an idea!

I might add a food section to this blog. Try to document each recipe I use, since it’ll be a first time trying them all, with notes about how it turned out and what I’d fix for next time. Maybe a “Failed or Nailed it” type thing. God willing.

We ended the night drinking tea + discussing what we wanted from the vlogs & this blog. We will be tweaking a few things over the next few weeks. I’ll try my best to post everyday on this blog- some days are busier than others. We’ll mostly leave the videos for days where we’re out and about- there won’t be a video for today since it was entirely spent indoors.

Let me know what you think by leaving comments below 🙂

Keep us in your duaas!

Leave a Reply

