Patience.

Date: Wednesday, April 26 2017

Today didn’t go according to plan.

I was so excited! Today, M was going to take me to that spot in Antalya. I mean, we were going for our visa stuff but we were going there too.

http-mashable.comwp-contentgallerytriumphbrad-pitt
excited was an understatement

I was so excited I woke up early. I was so excited I got completely dressed on time. We’ve hit a few speed bumps since leaving home. Seeing the water was the one thing I was most excited about.

I sat dressed.

olmyX3Ns0nk4M

*10 mins passed*

alice-in-wonderland-bored-gif

*20 mins passed*

Homer-twiddle-thumb

*40 mins passed*

waiting

*1hr passed*

SmpV6sKa1vBxm

M finally texted me saying we weren’t going today.

hCiQVo1dzVwPu

I understand things come up. I understand certain things don’t go according to plan. But I was really upset because everything felt like it hadn’t been going according to any of my plans; all 4509823 plans/back-up plans I made.

I just quietly opened my computer & split screened between NCIS and here. I spent hours working/writing and watching. Getting up every once in a while for tea or cookies. After about 5 or 6 hours, I finally stopped & took a breath.

يَا أَيُّهَا الَّذِينَ آمَنُوا اسْتَعِينُوا بِالصَّبْرِ وَالصَّلَاةِ ۚ إِنَّ اللَّهَ مَعَ الصَّابِرِينَ

“O you who have believed, seek help through patience and prayer. Indeed, Allah is with the patient.” [2:153]

وَاصْبِرُوا ۚ إِنَّ اللَّهَ مَعَ الصَّابِرِينَ…

“…and be patient. Indeed, Allah is with the patient.” [8:46]

وَاللَّهُ يُحِبُّ الصَّابِرِينَ …

“…And Allah loves the steadfast.” [3:146]

تِلْكَ مِنْ أَنبَاءِ الْغَيْبِ نُوحِيهَا إِلَيْكَ ۖ مَا كُنتَ تَعْلَمُهَا أَنتَ وَلَا قَوْمُكَ مِن قَبْلِ هَٰذَا ۖ فَاصْبِرْ ۖ إِنَّ الْعَاقِبَةَ لِلْمُتَّقِينَ

“That is from the news of the unseen which We reveal to you, [O Muhammad]. You knew it not, neither you nor your people, before this. So be patient; indeed, the [best] outcome is for the righteous .” [11:49]

No matter how much I try to arrange things, I need to learn to be patient when it doesn’t happen or things go wrong differently. From the second we arrived at the DFW airport, everything hasn’t been according to plan. According to my plan.

I need to stay patient and have faith in His plan. I need to remind myself that His plan is the best plan.

وَيَمْكُرُونَ وَيَمْكُرُ اللَّهُ ۖ وَاللَّهُ خَيْرُ الْمَاكِرِينَ

But they plan, and Allah plans. And Allah is the best of planners.” [8:30]

And as my sister F would say, “This life is temporary” lol. It’s really not a big deal. I would just spend today finishing up my work while relaxing/watching my show. No harm in that.

I ended up getting invited over to the neighbor across the hall in the evening for some tea, sweets, and good conversation with a few of the other neighbors. This was the first time I met her properly. I had Turkish cotton candy (vanilla & coca flavor), Russian honey, and Turkish chocolate. It was deeelicious.

While at this gathering, I got asked if M & I would help some of the kids in the building hone their English skills. They learn it in school but their speaking is off due to their English teachers being Turkish. The kids needed an English tutor. M got 2 boys and I got 1 girl. We would both start tomorrow.

وَاللَّهُ خَيْرُ الْمَاكِرِينَ

And Allah is the best of planners.

The day didn’t turn out as I wanted but it was still a pretty good day, God bless.

Keep us in your duaas!

Leave a Reply

