Spinach Mushroom Alfredo Pasta

I wanted white sauce pasta with spinach and mushroom. I wanted that specific combination. I couldn’t find a recipes for that so I pieced together a few different ones I found and made one for myself. My god, it turned out so awesoooome! I’ll definitely be saving this one and using it again in the near future.

Feeds ~3 hungry adults

Ingredients:

  • For white sauce
    • 3 tbsp of butter
    • 2 tbsp of all purpose flour
    • 2 1/2 cups of milk, boiled
    • 1 tsp of black pepper
    • 1/2 tsp of oregano
    • 1/2 tsp of thyme
    • 1/2 tsp red pepper flakes
    • Salt
  • 2 cups of pasta- I used Rotini
  • 1 small carrot, chopped fine
  • 1/2 cup sweet corn
  • 1/2 package (~1 cup) of frozen spinach
  • 1 1/2 cups of sliced mushrooms
  • 1 tbsp of butter

Directions:

  1. Boil pasta and set aside.
  2. Heat 1 tablespoon  of butter in a pan and saute the carrots, corn, spinach, and mushroom. Once it’s done, remove to a plate and set aside. I had sauteed my spinach separately but it can be done all together.
  3. In the same pan, add the remaining butter (3 tbsp). Once melted and hot, slowly add the flour. I added 1 tbsp at a time, whisking very well before adding the second tbsp. Before moving to the next step, make sure there are no lumps of flour in the pan. Whisk it very very well.
  4. Add the boiled milk and mix well. Make sure the heat is on low and whisk very well to avoid lumps. I slowly added the milk, maybe 1/2 cup at a time, whisking to make sure everything mixes properly before adding the rest of the milk.
  5. Once the sauce is starting to thicken, add the salt, black pepper, oregano, thyme, and red pepper flakes. Mix well.IMG_1024
  6. Continue to cook on low heat until the sauce thickens and turns smooth.
  7. When the sauce reaches the desired thickness, add the sauteed veggies and stir well.IMG_1028
  8. Add the boiled pasta and mix well.
  9. Serve white sauce pasta while still hot!IMG_1032

 

Note: You can add grated cheese to the sauce before adding dried herbs or can add before serving.

Let me know if ya’ll make this & how it turned out 🙂

 


One thought on “Spinach Mushroom Alfredo Pasta

Leave a Reply

