Ramadan Goals Game Plan

Ramadan is here! A Muslims favorite time of year- yes it’s our favorite even though we go 16+ hours without food or drink. It’s a very spiritual time that people use to increase their good deeds and end bad habits. What better time than when shaytan is locked up? Just gotta battle your nafs, nbd…

I wanted to share with y’all some of the goals that I made for myself this Ramadan and how I made them to hopefully encourage you to make some for yourself. I saw someone discussing their Ramadan goals that helped them grow spiritually which lead to me making my list.

So, for me, Ramadan is about stopping bad/not-so-good habits and making good ones. I made a list of the stuff I didn’t like that I was doing, things I’ve been saying “Yeah inshaAllah I’ll stop/lessen that soon”, things that aren’t necessarily haram/bad but do take up a large portion of my productivity. Then, I made a list of the things I’ve been saying “Yeah, I’ll start working on that soon inshaAllah”, things that I wish I was doing, things that I could do to make my days more productive.

Examples: stop listening to acapella, stop watching so much Netflix, stop watching YouTube for hours, read more (in general), reviewing Quran more regularly, have a constant source of islamic information/education

After making a list of what I wanted to fix, I took each one and turned it into something useful. As for what I wished I was doing, I made them into short, easy achievable goals.

Example: Too much Netflix/YouTube? Replace it with watching lectures on YouTube. There are many good, short lectures. You can also find some shuyukh who create a short Ramadan series (Menk is awesome!). Not enough Islamic input? Pick one Islamic book and read through/take notes as you would for your classes and try to understand what is being said. Been wanting to review the Quran? Pick 1 Juz and focus on it. Review it thoroughly.

The key is making them achievable– this will vary from person to person, based on their schedules. If it’s a BIG goal, it’ll be daunting and you’ll put off starting it. If you break it up, start out slow, and work your way up to a steady schedule, you’ll be more likely to keep it up even after Ramadan is over. Remember, it’s about building new, good habits.

That being said, it is Ramadan. Use your time doing extra good things specific for this month, go above & beyond. If you’re planning on stay up and basically becoming nocturnal, use that time doing good things. Try scheduling one of your goals to work on during that time. Read some Qur’an. Pray 2 or 4 rakaat- doesn’t need to be crazy long- right before you sit for suhur. Make duaa. You should take advantage of the fact that you’re awake for the best part of the day(night):

حَدَّثَنَا أَبِي هُرَيْرَةَ ـ رضى الله عنه ـ أَنَّ رَسُولَ اللَّهِ صلى الله عليه وسلم قَالَ ‏ “‏ يَنْزِلُ رَبُّنَا تَبَارَكَ وَتَعَالَى كُلَّ لَيْلَةٍ إِلَى السَّمَاءِ الدُّنْيَا حِينَ يَبْقَى ثُلُثُ اللَّيْلِ الآخِرُ يَقُولُ مَنْ يَدْعُونِي فَأَسْتَجِيبَ لَهُ مَنْ يَسْأَلُنِي فَأُعْطِيَهُ مَنْ يَسْتَغْفِرُنِي فَأَغْفِرَ لَهُ ‏”‏‏.‏

Narrated Abu Huraira:

Allah’s Messenger (ﷺ) (p.b.u.h) said, “Our Lord, the Blessed, the Superior, comes every night down on the nearest Heaven to us when the last third of the night remains, saying: “Is there anyone to invoke Me, so that I may respond to invocation? Is there anyone to ask Me, so that I may grant him his request? Is there anyone seeking My forgiveness, so that I may forgive him?” [Bukhari 1145]

Ramadan is a beautiful month; spend it doing as much good as you possibly can. Above are just some examples. Create your own list based on what you have been wanting to fix/change about your day to day life.

One of my goals was to try to post on here more often- post beneficial things. I started reading The Book of Manners (another goal). The plan is to get through ~15 pages a day. I figured I’d share with y’all what stood out to me in each section- verbatim since I’m not a scholar obvi. This will help me with my goal of posting more beneficial things and it’ll be like taking notes while reading to help the information stick.

I ask Allah to make this Ramadan beneficial for us all. I ask Allah to help us all achieve our goals- if it’s good for us. I ask Allah to give us all the strength to break the bad habits and form good ones.


Leave a Reply

